Breakin’ dishes!

Spoke to the coordinator of the reception site yesterday and he made me feel much more comfortable about the wedding planning process, partly because he kept saying in various permutations “we want to help you have the day you’ve dreamed about…” Finding out that they will make the wedding cake there also helped to allay some anxieties, I think because the more ‘extras’ there are the more it seems like $2000 here, $2000 there. So we scheduled a tentative and ominous date in June (Friday the 13th) for me to go down to Narragansett to check out the scene and see some photos. An event will be going on that night so I will be able to see what things look like in the prep period.

(from Hull Grenier Studios)

Since I feel much calmer about the wedding planning, I thought that today I would muse on something more nesting-related: dishwashers. In June A. and I are moving to a gorgeous neighborhood of old, gingerbread-y houses near Jamaica Pond, and everything seems great except that there is no dishwasher. When we lived together before there wasn’t a dishwasher, and I would say that about once a week one of us would spend a half hour doing the week’s dishes. Maybe this sounds energy efficient, but this article on slate indicates that hand-washing dishes rarely is more water or energy efficient than using a dishwasher. Apparently, in a German study they found that the average handwasher uses “27.2 gallons of water, which requires 2.5 kWh of electricity to heat” while an efficient machine washer uses “3.96 and 5.81 gallons of water, and between 1 and 2 kWh of electricity.” Interestingly, in the study “the most careless hand-washers were Spanish and Portuguese, while the most economical were German.” Well, I am not German, and the washer with the most positive consumer reports on Amazon, the Edgestar model, uses a maximum of 3 gallons of water, according to the specs on CompactAppliance.com. It is a smaller dishwasher, and can only hold a 4-person ‘service,’ but sounds like a good idea to me! One common consumer issue is that the tube that connects the washer to the kitchen faucet sometimes falls apart after a few months, but Edgestar sends an extra for free (it has a year long parts warranty). Let’s take a look:

Anyone have any experience with this type of thing? Any words of wisdom?

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Breakin’ dishes!”

  1. Molly Says:

    Sorry, I don’t. But I was curious about where exactly in Narragansett you’re getting married. Is it the Dunes Club? You can email me if you don’t want to give too many details online.

  2. Goldie Says:

    Yes it’s the DC. Have you heard any good/bad wedding stories about it?

  3. Molly Says:

    I haven’t, although I’m sure you can check the Knot for reviews. I’ve read a lot about my venue there.

Leave a Reply

