Peonies, daisies, hydrangeas, oh dear.

I’m beginning to think that I don’t want to have super slick floral arrangements, and instead just aim for simple bouquets tied with light blue grosgrain ribbon.  I like the idea of getting the flowers from one of a number of local farms in southern RI (many can be found here on Farm Fresh RI).  Yes, I know, how faux-ho, bobo, or yuppie (whatever is your preferred phrase for people who half buy in to the ‘green’ movement) of me, but after eight years of living in Rhode Island I know that lots of flowers grow here, especially between May and August.  Did I mention that the hot-pink dogwoods are blooming and that I have a bowl of lilacs sitting on my counter?  One thing, though, that I’m not totally clear on, is how people purchase wedding flowers wholesale, or whether I would need to do that, versus just pick up a bunch (or have the MOH pick some up) at the farmer’s market the day of the nuptials.  Plenty of time for research of this nature (no pun intended!), though.

Speaking of the MOH, a friend of hers sent me this link, which shows ladies in all of their bridesmaid dresses.  How appropriate now that 27 Dresses is now out on video, dvd and “Blue Ray” (whatever that is!)  If you did not fork over $9 to see this fine film in theatres, now is your chance!  It was filmed in jolly Providence (although the movie is set in NYC) and there are tons of great shots of the Ocean State!  And, btw, who doesn’t love James Marsden?  I loved him in the WB’s short-lived Jack and Jill and I love him now!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Peonies, daisies, hydrangeas, oh dear.”

  1. KC Says:

    Check out Robin Hollow Farms in Saunderstown– I’m using Polly for my flowers, and she’s fantastic! They’re a part of Farm Fresh RI- she does a few weddings each summer.

  2. Goldie Says:

    Love it! Love the dahlias. Thanks KC! Please send any more Ocean State recs my way if you get the chance!

Leave a Reply

