Wedding inspiration from the pages of Vogue Living

I think I subscribe to Vogue just so that I can received the quarterly Vogue Living which is awesome.  This spring’s issue is kind of about layering and shabby chic themes.  There is a great article on the decoupager John Derian who bought an old house in Provincetown, Massachusetts, and just kind of let it’s antiquity ooze.  I love his aesthetic, especially how he carries over his trademark decoupage eye into decor.  There was also a section of the magazine devoted to the look I’m interested in achieving at my wedding.  Here it is: a Victorian theme to go with my Victorian ring.

This picture also illustrates the color scheme I’ve been considering (light blue, coral and white) without evoking Howard Johnson’s.  As much as I love the parasol/umbrella presence, I’m not sure that I have the gall to carry a parasol, but there are huge umbrellas on the deck of the club where we are planning to have the reception.  And although my dress is definitely from the 40’s, I think the gold buttons and pintucked silk organza are very Belle Epoch.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

