Imaginary San Antonio wedding

Since I spent most of today in the airport, trying to divert my anxiety by thinking about wedding themes, I’d like to share what may have been the first time I thought about my own wedding, which was on a trip to the Marion Koogler McNay Art Museum in San Antonio, Texas. This museum is similar to the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston in the way that in its former life it was the private residence of a lady and art philanthropist. I believe the McNay is where I first read the famous Edward Hopper remark: “What I wanted to do was to paint sunlight on the side of a house.” So sometimes I imagine a Tex-Mex themed wedding at the McNay, complete with mariachis, pinatas, punchy colors and stark white cotton.

picture-3.png

picture-5.png

Photos of the McNay from the website.

Alamo charm from theknot real weddings.

Earrings from etsy.

And, of course, Mexican tissue paper flowers from loveboxes.

Leave a Reply

