If the dress fits…

Two days ago my mom and I took my grandmother’s wedding dress to the tailor to see if it could be altered and we discovered… it already fits! Well, it’s slightly tight around the arm holes and the waist, but really the only place that needs serious attention is the bustline. How flattering! As you can see from the photos, there is a front placket of about 7 gold-pink pearl buttons that had to be left open when I tried the dress on. So that needs to be changed because I’m really not going for the unbuttoned look at my wedding!

It’s also hard to see, but the sleeves have a neat stiff upward angle that seems very Katherine Hepburn to me.

6 Responses to “If the dress fits…”

  1. jenn Says:

    Looks fantastic!

  2. Kathryn Says:

    What a beautiful dress – and how special and unique that you will get to wear your grandmother’s dress!

  3. The greenest part of my wedding… « Ocean State Bride Says:

    […] …Will probably be my grandmother’s wedding dress.  I know I posted a photo (squeezing myself into it) earlier, but let’s have another look, shall […]

  4. erica Says:

    the sleeves fit you perfectly! i love those 1930/40s shirt dresses so much!

  5. anna h. Says:

    gorgeous! and such a wonderful thing — i wore my mother’s wedding dress and was and am so thrilled i did. you will always be happy about doing this!

    (your dress is so beautifully, simply elegant)

    best wishes to you and your fiancee!

  6. jnicholea Says:

    This looks great, I wish I had the opportunity to do something like this!

Leave a Reply

